Media Releases → 2023


Dr Vivienne Thom AM appointed to lead parliamentary leadership taskforce

Senator The Hon Don Farrell
Minister for Trade and Tourism
Special Minister of State

Joint Minister(s)

Senator The Hon Katy Gallagher
Minister for Finance
Minister for the Public Service
Minister for Women

Date: Friday, 17 February 2023

The Australian Government has announced the appointment of Dr Vivienne Thom AM as the Independent Expert Chair of the Parliamentary Leadership Taskforce.

Dr Thom will lead the taskforce overseeing the implementation of the recommendations of the Sex Discrimination Commissioner, Ms Kate Jenkins, in the Set the Standard report. Ms Jenkins’ report highlighted an unacceptably high rate of bullying and sexual harassment in parliamentary workplaces.

Dr Thom will bring a wealth of experience to this role, having previously conducted a number of sensitive and complex inquiries into allegations of misconduct.

Everyone has the right to be safe at work, and our Parliament should set the highest standard for workplace behaviour and culture. 

Dr Thom’s experience, integrity and commitment to bring about lasting, positive change will contribute to these important reforms and building on the progress that the PLT has already overseen.

Dr Thom was also appointed as a Member of the Order of Australia for her significant service to public administration and mentorship of women in executive positions.

On behalf of the Government and the Taskforce, we thank Ms Kerri Hartland for her work as the first Chair of the Taskforce.


Media Contact
(02) 6277 7420